10 reviews given by arymal07


Sort: 
Makai ki Subzi 
Reviewed August 03, 2012by arymal07

Such a simple use of everyday spices and sweet corn gets converted to a dish that can go with chapatis or rice. Since I stock up sweet corn kernels like shelled green peas, now I don't have to think too much for the times I run out of fresh vegetables. The recipe research at your end ensures the end result is perfect even at first attempt. Thanks to the Tarla Dalal team!

Chana Dal with Cucumber 
Reviewed August 03, 2012by arymal07

Late last night I realised I was running low on vegetables for the next day's packed lunch. A random search for something involving chanadal led me to this recipe.With hardly any advance preparations the dish turned out a real saviour and is definitely a novel and healthy one. The precise measurements and mention of the specific cooking utensils are a great help.Tarla aunty, a big thanks to you and your team.

Diabetic Caramel Custard 
Reviewed July 31, 2012by arymal07

I had been searching for some way to prop up my custard moulds which never looked like the one on the pack when I came across this "diabetic" recipe. In the bargain I learnt how to caramelise sugar and how to use unflavoured agar-agar. So good, I regret not having seen the recipe earlier. Thank-you once again Tarla aunty!

Sprouts Kadhi ( Low Calorie Healthy Cooking ) 
Reviewed July 31, 2012by arymal07

Sprouting pulses gives me the pride of being a "Green Thumb" and being able to rustle up a nutritious dish from them gives me the satisfaction of doing the best for my family, nutrition wise. Of late, I came across mixed pulse blends containingas many as 15 different types. After sprouting them it was a treasure trove and it wouldn't do justice to cook them the way I always did. For a gravy based dish not involving the usual onion- tomato-ginger- garlic, Tarla aunty's kadhi was the best option and following it to the " T" ensured that the outcome was perfect the very first time I tried it. Thanks for sharing all those tidbits of valuable information, cooking tips and the tasty, healthy recipe

Green Peppercorns in Brine 
Reviewed July 27, 2012by arymal07

I have to pass on the compliments I get for this novel condiment that accompanies the occasional dal-rice khichdi we have. The first time I bought them I'd intended using them like we would use green garlic or fresh turmeric we get during the winter season.I had never had the chance to taste them either but the intention then was to show them to my daughter since they looked so beautiful. I had no clue it could be used this way, till I looked up Tarla aunty's repertoireof recipes. Besides the tidbits of accurate information, I got the perfect recipe for pickling the peppercorns. Thank-you Tarla aunty for making me feel like a pro.

Fada Ni Khichdi ( Gujarati Recipe) 
Reviewed July 02, 2012by arymal07

Last winter I passed by a group of Gujrati speaking ladies , one of whom was saying " Fada ni khichdi kari hathi. Bahu fine laagi.. " I'd never heard the name nor did I know what the main ingredient was . A general (superficial) google search later, I initially dismissed it as a fanciful name for the 'namkeen dalia ", I'd been making. Out of curiosity for Tarla aunty's version and of course having successfully attempted some of her recipes earlier, I checked the recipe on this website and noticed that the ingredients were considerably different although the method was probably simpler than what I was doing. What I was cooking was wholesome but the gujarati version as interpreted by Tarla aunty was exactly what you could call a complete one dish meal with the nutrients also intact. If I have the vegetables required, then this is what I cook on the spur. The best part is that I still haven't tasted it made by an authentic gujarati or even at a restaurant. All the same it tasted good each time I made it and my family agrees. Thank-you Tarla aunty!

Corn Bhel 
Reviewed June 18, 2012by arymal07

Tarla aunty ,thanks for the wonderfully simple and healthy combination. I used to pressure cook sweet corn with nearly the same ingredients. Your version is tastier and fancier looking.

Dry Garlic Chutney 
Reviewed June 06, 2012by arymal07

Its indeed simple to make. I just hope refrigeration will prolong its shelf life. I had earlier tried out a blend of the same ingredients but after roasting them (presuming that was the way it was done). Tarla aunty, your version is tastier.

Sweet Lemon Pickle 
Reviewed March 03, 2012by arymal07

Simplicity of ingredients coupled with patience - its a wonderful recipe. I've had to tweak the recipe a bit for convenience. All the same thank -you Tarla aunty for sharing this.

Dapka Kadhi ( Gujarati Recipe) 
Reviewed February 07, 2012by arymal07

Its a wonderful alternative to the fried pakoda kadhi,that is a staple in north Indian homes. As a variation I tried it with moong dal chilka and it was just as nice. Thank-you Tarla aunty!

Subscribe to the free food mailer

8 Cookies recipes

Missed out on our mailers?
Our mailers are now online!

View Mailer Archive

Privacy Policy: We never give away your email

REGISTER NOW If you are a new user.
Or Sign In here, if you are an existing member.

Login Name
Password

Forgot Login / Passowrd?Click here

If your Gmail or Facebook email id is registered with Tarladalal.com, the accounts will be merged. If the respective id is not registered, a new Tarladalal.com account will be created.

Click OK to sign out from tarladalal.
For security reasons (specially on shared computers), proceed to Google and sign out from your Google account.

Are you sure you want to delete this review ?