9 reviews given by orangeanush


Sort: 
Achari Baingan 
Reviewed October 14, 2012by orangeanush

Absolutely superb! I made a low-fat, vegan version by roasting the marinated brinjal cubes on all sides on a lightly oiled tava, adding non-dairy milk instead of cream and using soya curds. I also used a little less chilli powder for the marinade as I didn't want it to be too hot. Otherwise I closely followed the recipe and made my own punjabi garam masala based on another recipe on this site. It was a tasty lunch served with bajra rotis.

Dill Dosa 
Reviewed August 23, 2012by orangeanush

I was a bit apprehensive about using so much dill but it turns out that it has a wonderfully fresh and lemony flavour. I used brown rice and brown rice poha for the batter but followed the recipe otherwise and served it jaggery. It was a delicious and healthy evening snack.

Ragda Pattice ( Mumbai Roadside Recipes ) 
Reviewed June 18, 2012by orangeanush

Delicious and healthy too so long as you are sparing with the sev and puris. I too used oil instead of ghee. I've also successfuly made it with a black urad dal 'ragda' and sweet potato pattice.

Cream Of Celery Soup ( Protein Rich Recipes ) 
Reviewed April 29, 2012by orangeanush

I doubled the amount of potatoes and added only quarter the given amount of milk and cornstarch. Also I used non-dairy milk. It has a delicate celery flavour with a light, thin consistency. I have eaten soup like this in restaurants when I was a small child and was never able to replicate the recipe before. Thank you.

Nachni Khichu 
Reviewed April 23, 2012by orangeanush

I had never heard of khichu before and I was surprised at how tasty it was for such a simple-looking dish! I often have it for breakfast. It is filling without being heavy. The only changes I make are to omit the chilli powder as I don't want it to be too hot and I put lemon juice instead of curds. Also mostly I cook it in the microwave, as suggested in one of the other khichu recipes for speed and ease. It's a quick and tasty way to consume nutrient-rich ragi.

Sprout and Fruit Bhel 
Reviewed January 21, 2012by orangeanush

I was quite casual with the measurements for the fruits and sprouts but kept the proportions roughly. Be sure that you use sweet juicy tomatoes for the best taste. It's a wonderful nutritious snack. If I had had such dishes when I was a small child, I would never have made a fuss about eating fruits and sprouts!

Low Calorie Canneloni 
Reviewed January 21, 2012by orangeanush

Great idea! I halved the recipe but used the same amount of vegetables. The combination I used was sweetcorn, celery and greens. I also ground together the sauce ingredients first and let it thicken to a sauce consistency. I used green chilli and fresh herbs. In place of paneer, I added tofu. It was delicious!

Cabbage and Paneer Sandwich 
Reviewed November 22, 2011by orangeanush

Used grated tofu instead of paneer and creamed coconut (coconut block) instead of butter. Added pepper, pinch of jeera seeds and garam masala to the mixture and also some grated creamed coconut and lemon juice for a bit of richness and tang. I cooked the filling for a few minutes till the cabbage had softened and the mixture was fairly dry. Then I toasted the bread separately before spreading a little creamed coconut on it and sandwiching the filling between the slices. Very tasty, healthy snack/ light meal.

Italian Pasta With Mushroom Sauce 
Reviewed November 05, 2011by orangeanush

Very tasty; good change from useful tomato-based pastas. I made some changes because I am vegan (don't eat dairy). As substitute for butter I used olive oil and a little coconut oil for richness. Instead of dairy cheese I used a homemade 'cheese' made from cashews. I didn't have time to make white sauce (I would have used non-dairy milk if I had made it) but I had some leftover celery soup I had made earlier so I used this instead and it worked well. (Similar to this soup http://tarladalal.com/Cream-Of-Celery-Soup-%28-Protein-Rich-Recipes-%29-33254r). Also I included some garlic, cooked some fresh green peas with the mushrooms for a bright colour and added a splash of non-alcoholic white wine while cooking the vegetables.

Subscribe to the free food mailer

Super 10 Evening Tea Time Snacks

Missed out on our mailers?
Our mailers are now online!

View Mailer Archive

Privacy Policy: We never give away your email

REGISTER NOW If you are a new user.
Or Sign In here, if you are an existing member.

Login Name
Password

Forgot Login / Passowrd?Click here

If your Gmail or Facebook email id is registered with Tarladalal.com, the accounts will be merged. If the respective id is not registered, a new Tarladalal.com account will be created.

Click OK to sign out from tarladalal.
For security reasons (specially on shared computers), proceed to Google and sign out from your Google account.

Are you sure you want to delete this review ?